Nurvivo NP Care vs Cleo Health: Outpatient NP Scribe or Hospital Acute-Care Platform?
Quick answer
Cleo Health (cleohealth.io) - sometimes referred to as "Cleo AI Scribe" - is an AI documentation, charge-capture, and clinical documentation integrity (CDI) platform built for hospital acute care: emergency medicine, hospitalists, and inpatient advanced practice providers. It is not built for independent outpatient nurse practitioners. Nurvivo NP Care is purpose-built for that group - NP-specific templates, scope-of-practice awareness by state, collaborative-agreement documentation, and incident-to vs. independent billing flags.
What is Cleo Health?
Cleo Health (cleohealth.io) is a US-based AI platform for hospital acute care, sold to health systems, hospital-based provider groups, and individual acute-care clinicians. Its "Acute Care OS" bundles an ambient AI scribe with automated charge capture, real-time clinical documentation integrity (CDI), and AI-assisted E/M, ICD-10, CPT, and DRG coding, aimed at emergency medicine and hospitalist workflows. Public materials mention physicians and advanced practice providers (APPs) in acute/inpatient settings; we found no NP-specific templates, no scope-of-practice awareness by state, no collaborative-agreement documentation, and no incident-to vs. independent NP billing logic. Cleo Health states it is HIPAA compliant, signs BAAs, and holds a SOC 2 Type II report. Pricing is not publicly disclosed - the site is built around a "Request a Demo" flow rather than self-serve signup, and Cleo Health reports it is used by 100+ hospitals nationwide. Note: there is more than one health-tech product using the name "Cleo" - this comparison covers Cleo Health's clinical AI scribe/Acute Care OS platform at cleohealth.io, not unrelated products with a similar name.
Bottom line
Pick Nurvivo NP Care if you're an independent or outpatient NP who needs scope-of-practice-aware documentation and NP-specific billing logic. Pick Cleo Health if you're an emergency medicine physician, hospitalist, or inpatient advanced practice provider at a hospital or health system that wants ambient documentation bundled with charge capture and real-time CDI.
Nurvivo NP Care vs Cleo Health - feature by feature
| Feature | Nurvivo NP Care | Cleo Health |
|---|---|---|
| Target user | Independent / outpatient nurse practitioners (purpose-built) | Hospital-based physicians, hospitalists, and APPs in acute care |
| Care setting | Outpatient / independent practice | Inpatient / emergency department (acute care) |
| NP-specific templates | FNP, AGPCNP, WHNP, PMHNP, PNP, ACNP | Not advertised; general acute-care documentation |
| Scope-of-practice awareness | By state (full / reduced / restricted) | Not advertised |
| Collaborative-agreement docs | Auto-generated for restricted states | Not advertised |
| Incident-to / independent billing | Flagged in the note | Not advertised; coding is built for inpatient E/M, ICD-10, CPT, DRG capture |
| Charge capture / CDI bundling | Not offered | Automated E/M, ICD-10, CPT, and DRG capture with real-time CDI queries |
| HIPAA + BAA | BAA included on every paid plan | HIPAA compliant; BAA available; SOC 2 Type II report |
| Sign-up model | Self-serve, free during Founding Beta | Demo-request / enterprise sales process |
| Starting price | Free during Founding Beta | Not publicly disclosed |
Comparison based on publicly available information as of May 2026. Verify with each vendor directly. Nurvivo is not affiliated with Cleo Health.
Why independent NPs choose Nurvivo
- βBuilt for independent and outpatient nurse practitioners - NP-specific templates (FNP, AGPCNP, WHNP, PMHNP, PNP, ACNP), not an inpatient/acute-care workflow retrofitted for NPs.
- βScope-of-practice aware by state - handles prescribing, ordering, and referral rules for full-, reduced-, and restricted-practice states, which Cleo Health does not publicly advertise.
- βGenerates collaborative-agreement documentation automatically for NPs in restricted-practice states.
- βIncident-to vs. independent NP billing flags built into the note - Cleo Health's coding features are built around inpatient E/M, ICD-10, CPT, and DRG capture, not outpatient NP billing arrangements.
- βHIPAA-native with BAA included on every paid plan, and free during the Founding Beta with transparent, publicly stated pricing (free, no credit card) - Cleo Health's pricing is not publicly disclosed and its sign-up path is demo-based.
When Cleo Health might fit better
- βYou're an emergency medicine physician or hospitalist working inpatient at a hospital or health system, not an independent outpatient NP.
- βYou're an advanced practice provider working within a hospital's acute-care or ED workflow and want documentation bundled with charge capture and real-time CDI.
- βYour organization needs enterprise-level revenue-cycle features (DRG optimization, CDI queries, charge-leakage reduction) that go beyond note-writing, and you have (or want) a hospital-scale enterprise contract rather than a self-serve individual subscription.
Frequently asked questions
Is Cleo Health (Cleo AI Scribe) built for nurse practitioners?
Cleo Health's public materials describe its Acute Care OS as built for emergency medicine physicians, hospitalists, and advanced practice providers working inpatient in hospitals. It does not advertise NP-specific templates, scope-of-practice awareness, or collaborative-agreement documentation for independent outpatient NPs - those are central to Nurvivo NP Care.
Is Cleo Health the same as other apps named Cleo?
No. This comparison covers Cleo Health (cleohealth.io), an AI clinical documentation, charge-capture, and CDI platform for hospital acute care. "Cleo" is used by more than one company in health tech and consumer software; always confirm you're looking at cleohealth.io before comparing.
What does Cleo Health cost compared to Nurvivo NP Care?
Cleo Health does not publish pricing; its site directs prospective customers to request a demo rather than sign up directly, consistent with an enterprise/health-system sales model. Nurvivo NP Care is currently free during the Founding Beta, with no credit card required. Paid pricing for NP Care will be announced after the beta.
Does Cleo Health handle charge capture and CDI that Nurvivo NP Care doesn't?
Yes. Cleo Health's Acute Care OS bundles ambient documentation with automated charge capture and real-time clinical documentation integrity (CDI) for inpatient revenue-cycle workflows. Nurvivo NP Care does not offer charge capture or CDI - it focuses on NP-specific outpatient documentation, scope-of-practice awareness, and NP billing flags instead.
See Nurvivo NP Care in your practice
Free for your first 30 days, no credit card required - then $29/mo as a founding member, locked in for as long as you stay subscribed.
Get started β