Nurvivo NP Care vs Abridge: Enterprise Health-System AI or NP-Built Scribe?
Quick answer
Abridge is an enterprise ambient AI documentation platform sold through health-system contracts (Kaiser Permanente, Johns Hopkins Medicine, Duke Health, Mayo Clinic, UPMC) with deep Epic EHR integration - it has no self-serve signup for individual clinicians. Nurvivo NP Care is built specifically for independent US nurse practitioners, with NP-specific templates, scope-of-practice awareness, and collaborative-agreement documentation, and any NP can sign up directly.
What is Abridge?
Abridge is an enterprise generative-AI ambient documentation platform built for large health systems. It turns recorded patient conversations into structured clinical notes and integrates deeply with Epic - it became Epic's first "Pal" partner in 2023 and now offers "Abridge Inside," embedding note generation directly into Haiku and Hyperdrive workflows for inpatient and outpatient orders. Abridge is deployed at 300+ health systems (including Kaiser Permanente, Johns Hopkins Medicine, Duke Health, Sutter Health, UW Health, Mayo Clinic, and UPMC) and reports serving tens of thousands of clinicians. It is sold exclusively through organizational/enterprise contracts - there is no public self-serve signup, individual plan, or published price list; third-party estimates put enterprise per-clinician pricing in the low thousands of dollars per year, but Nurvivo cannot confirm exact figures since Abridge does not disclose pricing publicly. Abridge lists clinicians, nursing, and revenue-cycle teams as user categories and covers 40+ specialties, but does not publicly advertise nurse-practitioner-specific templates, state scope-of-practice logic, or collaborative-agreement documentation for restricted-practice states.
Bottom line
Pick Nurvivo NP Care if you're an independent or small-practice NP who wants to sign up directly and get NP-specific scope/billing logic. Pick Abridge only if you already work inside a large health system that has (or is evaluating) an enterprise Abridge-Epic contract - independent NPs cannot buy Abridge on their own.
Nurvivo NP Care vs Abridge - feature by feature
| Feature | Nurvivo NP Care | Abridge |
|---|---|---|
| Target user | Independent US nurse practitioners (purpose-built) | Large health systems and enterprise clinician networks |
| How you get access | Direct signup, no contract required | Enterprise/organizational contract only - no self-serve signup for individuals |
| NP-specific templates | FNP, AGPCNP, WHNP, PMHNP, PNP, ACNP | Not advertised; general clinical/nursing documentation across 40+ specialties |
| Scope-of-practice awareness | By state (full / reduced / restricted) | Not advertised |
| Collaborative-agreement docs | Auto-generated for restricted states | Not advertised |
| Incident-to / independent billing flags | Flagged in the note | Not advertised as NP-specific; has separate revenue-cycle intelligence tooling |
| EHR integration depth | Standard export / integration for independent practices | Deep native Epic integration (Epic's first "Pal"; Abridge Inside in Haiku/Hyperdrive) |
| HIPAA + BAA | BAA included on every paid plan | HIPAA-compliant; BAA executed as part of enterprise contracts; SOC 2 Type II |
| Pricing transparency | Free during Founding Beta - published and clear | Not publicly disclosed; quote-only enterprise pricing |
| Starting price | Free during Founding Beta | Not publicly disclosed (enterprise contract required) |
| Free trial | Free during Founding Beta (no credit card) | No public trial; access is provisioned through your employer's enterprise contract |
Comparison based on publicly available information as of May 2026. Verify with each vendor directly. Nurvivo is not affiliated with Abridge.
Why independent NPs choose Nurvivo
- βAny independent NP can sign up directly - no health-system contract, IT procurement, or enterprise sales cycle required.
- βBuilt for nurse practitioners specifically - NP-specific templates (FNP, AGPCNP, WHNP, PMHNP, PNP, ACNP), not a general enterprise platform retrofitted for nursing.
- βScope-of-practice aware by state - handles prescribing, ordering, and referral rules for full-, reduced-, and restricted-practice states.
- βGenerates collaborative-agreement documentation automatically for NPs in restricted-practice states, and flags incident-to vs. independent NP billing.
- βHIPAA-native with BAA included on every paid plan, and transparent about what's free (Founding Beta) - no opaque, quote-only enterprise pricing.
When Abridge might fit better
- βYou already work inside a large health system (or one that's evaluating Abridge) with an existing or upcoming enterprise Abridge-Epic contract - in that case Abridge is likely already provisioned for you, not something you'd buy independently.
- βYour organization runs Epic at scale and wants deep native write-back into Haiku/Hyperdrive across inpatient and outpatient workflows, with dedicated enterprise support and procurement.
- βYou don't need NP-specific scope-of-practice or collaborative-agreement logic because your health system's compliance and billing teams already handle that outside the scribe.
- βAs an independent solo or small-practice NP, note that Abridge is not realistically accessible to you at all - it has no self-serve signup, no individual plan, and no published pricing; access requires an organizational enterprise contract that individual clinicians cannot initiate on their own.
Frequently asked questions
Can an independent nurse practitioner sign up for Abridge?
Not directly. Abridge sells exclusively through enterprise contracts with health systems and large clinician networks - it has no public self-serve signup, no individual plan, and no published pricing for solo or small-practice clinicians. An independent NP would only get Abridge access if their employer or health system already has an enterprise contract in place.
Does Abridge have nurse-practitioner-specific features?
Abridge does not publicly advertise NP-specific templates, state scope-of-practice awareness, or collaborative-agreement documentation. It lists nursing as a supported user category alongside clinicians and revenue-cycle teams, but its documented feature set is built for general enterprise health-system documentation across 40+ specialties, not NP-specific scope or billing workflows.
How does Abridge pricing compare to Nurvivo NP Care?
Abridge does not publish pricing; it is sold through negotiated enterprise contracts, and third-party estimates (not confirmed by Abridge) put per-clinician costs in the low thousands of dollars per year. Nurvivo NP Care is currently free during the Founding Beta, with no credit card required. Paid NP Care pricing will be announced after the beta.
Does Abridge integrate with Epic?
Yes - Abridge became Epic's first "Pal" integration partner in August 2023 and later launched "Abridge Inside," which embeds AI-generated notes directly into Epic's Haiku and Hyperdrive workflows for both inpatient and outpatient care. This integration depth is built for large Epic-run health systems.
Sources
- Abridge official site (abridge.com)
- Abridge Trust Center - compliance and security certifications
- Abridge Becomes Epic's First Pal (official press release)
- Announcing Abridge Inside for Inpatient and Outpatient Orders (official press release)
- Epic, AI startup Abridge partner in third-party developer program - Healthcare Dive
- Nurvivo NP Care product page
See Nurvivo NP Care in your practice
Free for your first 30 days, no credit card required - then $29/mo as a founding member, locked in for as long as you stay subscribed.
Get started β